Registered: 1335527352 Posts: 5
Reply with quote #1
I hear each state has a different policy.
For cleaning above and beyond "normal wear and tear" can I, as a landlord in North Carolina, charge for cleaning and bill it to myself (rate x time spent)? __________________ Pete
Registered: 1169270040 Posts: 3,712
Reply with quote #2
The answer will sometimes be found in your state law. Please read the section of your state law that deals with returning the deposit. But more often than not, this is a local issue. Various courts, even in different areas of the same state, can disagree on this. The best way to find this out is to ask local LLs who have been to your local court under a suit for damages. I suggest you call a local REIA group (google under Real Estate Investors Association to find one). Ask them if your local judges or magistrates have ruled on this. That way you will know what the judges in your area rule on this issue.
If they tell you the judge doesn't allow it, hire a relative or teenager for the cleaning and mark the deposit statement as cleaning done by "John Smith" $xx.xx. If they say the judge will allow it, make sure you are reasonable in your charges. Mark hours for cleaning for each task (not one charge for "cleaning"). Charge a reasonable amount per hour according to the task done. Minimum wage or slightly above it for non-skilled tasks (cleaning, bagging trash, hauling items), $10-15 per hour for semi-skilled tasks (painting, basic repairs, etc.), and $20-40 per hour for skilled tasks (electrical, plumbing, carpentry, etc.) Basically, a judge will rule that you cannot charge more per hour than you could have hired someone else to do the same tasks.
Registered: 1354947236 Posts: 2
Reply with quote #3
I was wondering the same thing for Florida.
You can read Tenant Landlord law for North Caroline here: www.ncdoj.com/files/consumer/landlord-tenant-booklet.aspx __________________ Micheal Mills